The Tryon Museum interprets the Indigenous, Acadian, and early European settlement of the area. The unique, vintage radio collection tells the story of commercial broadcasting on the Island. A nature trail links the historical sites of the area and interprets the Tryon River Watershed.
Bedeque Area Historical Museum
The Bedeque Area Historical Museum is housed in the historic Callbeck store built in 1899. Bedeque area Loyalist history and rural past is told by themes of the Callbeck Store, the Loyalist settlement, the Borden ferry service, farming, the one-room schoolhouse, military, church and home.
Bishop Machine Shop Museum
Visit the 20th century belt driven Bishop Machine Shop and embrace the smells and sights of a small business, once a key player in the industrial life of Summerside. The museum explores the journey of the Bishop family as technology forces them to move from blacksmithing to machine work.
Eptek Art and Culture Centre
Named for the Mi’kmaq word for “warm spot,” the Eptek Arts & Culture Centre presents a year-round schedule of regional and provincial exhibits of fine arts, history, science and crafts. The Eptek Centre is a provincial site administered by the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation.
International Fox Museum
Located in the historic 1911 Armoury building, the museum is a tribute to the silver fox industry. The museum is home to exhibits, artifacts and real stories about people who made Prince Edward Island fox farming a world wide industry.
Lefurgey Cultural Centre
2017 marked the 150th anniversary of the Gothic Revival Lefurgey Centre, home of Culture Summerside. If art exhibits, architectural gems, bountiful heritage homes, rhubarb punch and homemade ice cream are things you like, then Lefurgey is for you.
MacNaught History Centre and Archives
Discover your Island roots and learn more about Island history at MacNaught. The archival staff will assist in the use of the many PEI genealogical resources. MacNaught also houses museum and art exhibit space. The pocket watch of Sir. John A. MacDonald is one of its most treasured artifacts.
Wyatt Historic House
The residence of the late Wanda Lefurgey Wyatt has been sensitively restored to its former elegance and charm. The 1867 house is a treasure trove of antique furnishings and offers an opportunity to experience the life and times of the Wyatt family over more than a century.
Follow the fascinating odyssey of Island Acadians from 1720 to the present; discover treasures related to the Acadians’ 300-year presence on PEI. Investigate your Acadian family roots through the onsite genealogy resources. The Acadian Museum is a provincial site administered by the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation.
Basket Weavers of Prince Edward Island
Discover the ancient art of ash splint basket weaving and watch as professional basket weavers create timeless and stunning baskets with hand carved handles and hoops. Experience the satisfaction of making your very own with reed decorated using bark or sweet grass.
West Point Lighthouse Inn and Museum
Built in 1875, the West Point Lighthouse is located on the southwest tip of PEI with a spectacular view of the Northumberland Strait. Photographs, maps, tools, lamps, log books, and other artifacts tell the story of PEI lighthouses with an emphasis on the importance of seafaring in the early history of the West Point Area.
Come learn about the potato industry and the community of O’Leary through interactive panels, videos, and antique farm equipment. There are also other attractions on site such as the Heritage Chapel, the Log Barn, and the Little Red Schoolhouse and the Telephone Office.
The Tignish Cultural Centre, which houses the local museum featuring artifacts and documentation of the local history and culture, was the 1999 Tignish Bicentennial Celebrations Legacy Project.
Stompin’ Tom Centre Homestead and Schoolhouse
Commemorate the life and legacy of Stompin’ Tom Connors by visiting his boyhood homestead and schoolhouse. Visitors can take in a variety of entertainment at the Centre and step back in time by walking through the doors of the schoolhouse he attended as a boy.
North Cape Wind Energy Interpretive Centre
The Centre focuses on the importance of wind energy and the means to harness this renewable resource. Displays and interpretive panels will also take you on a stroll through time to explore the colorful history of North Cape area, including storms, shipwrecks and ghost ships!
The Museum contains displays of artifacts of early residents, many local photos illustrating the history of Alberton and its inhabitants, and extensive genealogical information on area families. The Centre is a decommissioned Presbyterian Church which is now used to host cultural events.
Green Park Shipbuilding Museum / Yeo House
The Museum traces the history of the Island’s once mighty shipbuilding industry in the western region of the Island. Explore the restored Victorian rooms of historic Yeo house, home of a successful shipbuilder. Green Park Shipbuilding Museum and Yeo House are provincial sites administered by the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation.
Bideford Parsonage Museum
This historical residence was the home of L.M. Montgomery in 1894-95 during her first year of teaching at the Bideford School. This museum covers three themes: shipbuilding; Parsons/Ministers and their contribution to the community; and Lucy Maud Montgomery.
Prince Edward Island Shellfish Museum
The museum’s purpose is to preserve the history and heighten the awareness of the public regarding the value of the shellfish industry in the local area. Displays include artifacts relating to species identification, the history of oyster cultivation, and the growth and culture of shellfish.
Keir Memorial Museum
902-836-3054 – CLOSED THIS SEASON
Housed in the former Keir Memorial Presbyterian Church, the museum displays artifacts depicting the cultural life of Malpeque and surrounding districts. These include memorabilia and furnishings from local homesteads, farming, blacksmithing, oyster fishing implements, a working mud digger on site and an 1887 horse-drawn hearse.
Kensington Veterans Military Museum
902-836-3229 – CLOSED THIS SEASON
The Kensington Veterans Military Museum was formed in 1985, in order to perpetuate the memory and deeds of those who served and died in Canada’s wars and peace time. It is also for their comrades in arms in order to preserve a record of their valor so that their sacrifice would not be forgotten.